Fourteen Ontarians Selected for Women's Team Canada Print E-mail
Wednesday, 02 March 2011

The Canadian Ball Hockey Association has announced its Women’s roster for the World Championships to be held in Bratislava, Slovakia in June.

Twenty-three players, 8 of whom are returning from the 2009 team that won gold in Pilzen, have been selected from across the country to defend Canada’s double gold medal title.

General Manager of Operations, Paul Beale, is pleased with the calibre of the 2011 roster, saying, “We’ve put together a national team selected from among the very best our country and our High Performance Program has to offer. “This team is comprised of highly talented, dedicated and diverse players led by an experienced, passionate and motivated coaching staff.” Christine Pellerin, returning as Head Coach, said, “We have coast to coast representation on this team and that’s very important to us as we compete on the world stage. I’m confident that this is the right group of women to position us to make it three gold medals in a row.”

The Ontario Ball Hockey Association will have fourteen players represented on the 2011 Women's Team Canada:

Goaltenders: Kathryn Padmore (Toronto)

Defence: Susan Laska (Ottawa), Jessica Stachiw (Toronto), Lesley McArthur (Ottawa), Mallory Johnston (Chatham), Danika Smith (Ottawa)

Forwards: Elysia Desmier (Ottawa), Michelle Binning (Oshawa), Erika Pouliot (Ottawa), Clare Padmore (Toronto), Fannie DesForges (Ottawa), Britni Smith (Toronto), Jennifer Brine (Toronto) and Alicia Blomberg (Timmins).

Joining the players from Ontario named to the staff, Christine Pellerin - Head Coach (Toronto), Kathy Barnett - General Manager, Marketing & Promotion (Toronto), Renée Sheldon – Therapist (Pickering), and Dr. Donna Goldenberg, Team Doctor (Toronto).

For more information or for sponsorship inquiries: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , 416-277-7463.

For a complete list of the players who have been selected for the 2011 Women’s Team Canada, please visit the CBHA web site. On behalf of the OBHA we wish them all the best success.